Go Bottom Go Bottom

JD 4300 vs Cub Cadet 7305

View my Photos
Jim in Pa
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster

2000-01-28          12309

I'm a novice to these boards, but I've been reading this one for a month of so. After reading alot and test drives of Kubota, NH, JD and Cub, I'm down to deciding between the JD 4300HST (32 hp) and the Cub Cadet 7305 (HST 30 hp). I would outfit both with a 72" midmount mower and a loader with a 60" bucket. I'm struggling with which is the best combination. Read every thing here and elsewhere and test drove both.The JD 4300 has cruise, separate HST pedals and opposing brakes to the HST controls. I'd upgrade to a 430 loader with HD bucket which would give me a much greater lift capacity then the Cub. Also the JD appear to hold their value better than the Cub. The JD quick attach set-up also appears better in terms of ease of use. On the other hand, the JD has a composite fender body, access to the filters are covered and is a thousand dollars more than the Cub even after I try to compare apples to apples using a 420 loader and giving some dollars toward the 2 HP. Yanmar engine is reliable and I've got a good dealer fairly close. Size and weight is also close to the Cub.The Cub is just as heavy as the JD but has metal fenders and appears to be a bit stronger in the body. Doesn't have some of the JD ergonomics, but the Cub appears to be built to last. Access to maintenance items is easier and tire size is comparable to the JD. Doesn't have a full walk through platform and uses a treadle design for the HST. Cub Loader (which I understand is made by Woods) is a quick take off but only can lift or bucket tilt separately, not simulaneously like the JD. I also have a great dealer near to me.Exclusive of the loader capacity, can anybody help me with the difference in price to value? I've saved for this tractor forever, and I'll keep it forever. I want to make the best decision. I'm not influenced by color, just q