Go Bottom Go Bottom

Blown on insulation costs about blew my mind

View my Photos
cutter
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster  View my Photos  Pics

2001-12-13          33803

Just received an estimate from a local company that sprays insulation on the walls of buildings such as mine and had quite the shock. Almost five thousand dollars for the whole barn minus doors and windows. That estimate was for only and inch and a half thick. I need to conduct a search for a more reasonably priced product for now, to enable me to finish the shop area. Perhaps down the road I can afford to have the storage area done with the blown on type as the budget allows. Any ideas what might work the best for this application? I am no expert when it comes to these things, but would like a good product when completing this work.

Reply to | Quote Post Reply to PostQuote Reply | Add PhotoAdd Photo

View my Photos
gary
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster

2001-12-13          33804

cutter what type of building do you have. ....

View my Photos
bud in oh.

2001-12-15          33831

Cutter, I just had my shop, barn, insulated with NU-WOOL blown insulation they mix water and glue to make it stick to the walls. My total area with the ceiling is a little over 3000 sq.ft. it cost me $3100. and gave me R-27 in the walls and R-44 in the ceiling. The walls are over kill but they have to fill the entire cavity and my walls are 7 1/2" thick,right now I am just heating it with a kerosene heater but I have tubing in the floor for heat and I would like to go with geo-thermal but hve to wait til next year as my funds are funded dry right now. budinohio. ....

View my Photos
cutter
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster  View my Photos  Pics

2001-12-15          33832

Budinohio,