Go Bottom Go Bottom

Garden tractor with snowblower

View my Photos
T-BoneWalker
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster

2003-09-12          63735

I have gravel driveways that have a good bit of slope up from the house and barn to the road. Last winter, after the huge amount of snow we had, I started thinking about setting myself up with a garden tractor and snowblower, with a soft cab. I've looked at a 10 year old, 25hp, shaft drive, Troy-Bilt, with 400 hrs with this set up, that the dealer is asking $3,000 We've had someone plow us out for the last 7 years, but the snowbanks filled with my gravel, and the wear and tear on a retaining wall have made me rethink the problem. Can this combo handle the job? Any suggestions? I'm new at this. Thanks.

Reply to | Quote Post Reply to PostQuote Reply | Add PhotoAdd Photo

View my Photos
Ducati996
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster  View my Photos  Pics

2003-09-12          63736

T-Bone,

You have a lot of options for your target price of $3000.
I know you can find a used garden tractor with a thrower
for most likely a lot less. There are better brands than Troy built that sell for less, and since the Troy is 10 years already. Look on ebay for either Cub or John deere or Kubota and you see it all the time especially now that winter is near. In general garden tractors handle throwers very well, once set up correctly (chains, weights)
The achilies heel with a thrower is of course gravel. The trick is either have a base over the gravel of snow. Or to have the shoes high enough to miss digging up the gravel.
Others will add to this with advice, since I dont have gravel to contend with

Hope this helps

View my Photos
Art White
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster  View my Photos  Pics

2003-09-13          63748