Go Bottom Go Bottom

Want to run a front snowblower on the back

View my Photos
metalman
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster  View my Photos  Pics

2009-01-21          159675

I have a Kubota B-5200 with front bucket. I found a Front mount snowblower (B-L 2563 for $200.00) I'm a welder and can retrofit to my 3-pt. rearend BUT will the blower run BACKWARDS? If so what can I do...Rick

Reply to | Quote Post Reply to PostQuote Reply | Add PhotoAdd Photo

View my Photos
Murf
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster  View my Photos  Pics

2009-01-21          159677

The engineer in me says "yes", the fabricator in me says "no".

There's an old engineering saying "Nothing is impossible, but somethings are prohibitively expensive to do."

A typical front PTO runs at 2,000 rpm, the rear PTO is 540 rpm.

Now, some front blowers are 540 models with a gearbox on them, but not many, especially the OEM models.

It will NOT run backwards however. The fan is designed for a certain rotation, spinning it backwards it won't do anything, especially blow snow.

If however you can get a good deal on the blower, I'd happily give you a good deal more than $200 for it. LOL

Best of luck. ....

View my Photos
metalman

2009-01-21          159678

Thanks Murf, I understand the difference between the challange of "Can I do it" to "Wow that was a lot of work". The unit is 50 miles from me yet sight unseen and I would guess your offer of purchase would mean getting it to Ontario, Canada . Again the devel is in the details. Thanks I love this site. very helpfull. ....

View my Photos
Murf

2009-01-21          159679

Quote:
Originally Posted by metalman | view 159678
Thanks I love this site. very helpfull.

Welcome to the site, stick around, we're a fun bunch of people!! LOL

If the unit is in reasonable condition, no, I'll take it where it is, I'd have it picked up in Ann Arbor, cash on the barrel head.