Go Bottom Go Bottom

855 AND 3 POINT POST HOLE DIGGER

View my Photos
alan6271
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster

2004-08-25          94418

Hello,
I am pretty new to this big tractor stuff and I have a question about the 3 point hitch on my 855. When I hook up my post hole digger the top always leans to the side so it's not digging a straight hole. I know that on each of the bottom bars there is a chain and the one on the right side has a bolt that is stripped and the nut is right at the end of the bolt. These chains run from the tractor right up to the bar on the same side. I am going to pick up a new chain assembly later today but I don't know if that's going to fix the problem. Can anyone offer some advice?

Reply to | Quote Post Reply to PostQuote Reply | Add PhotoAdd Photo

View my Photos
Chief
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster  View my Photos  Pics

2004-08-25          94420

Snug sway chains are essential to holding the PHD in position. Replacign the stripped bolt, I would think should eleviate this problem. You may want to pull the tractor backward slightly for a few inches after positoning the PHD so it will dig the hole straight as it dig deeper and not angle backwards in the hole. ....

View my Photos
Murf
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster  View my Photos  Pics

2004-08-25          94421

Another part of the problem is the 3pth mechanism itself, there is nothing but gravity holding the arms down. When you lower the PHD it is tippy because of it's height compared to the narrow point on which it stands, this causes it to lean over and lift one arm up, making it lean over even more still.