Go Bottom Go Bottom

JD4400 loses power--help

View my Photos
Michael Spurgeon
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster

1999-07-25          6287

First I apologize for cross posting this message on the main board, but I am new to this Web site and promise I will not do so again. My JD4400HST has been anything but free from defects. Thankfully the dealer is great about fixing those that they know how to fix. The biggest defect so far was the PTO locking up at 8 hours of use which required a major tear-down of the back half of the tractor. Since the tractor was new (currently with 50 hours) it has periodic power loss. It will work fine for a week or two and then without warning while I am driving down the road or even mowing my yard, suddenly lose RPMs and power requiring me to turn off the cruise control and let up on the pedal. If I am in road range axle on the road, I will have to stop the tractor and shift the axle into middle range to keep from stalling. Perhaps 15-30 minutes later, it is working fine and this will not occur again for another week or so. I changed the fuel filter, cleaned the sediment bowl, drained and flushed the fuel tank which did not help. This problem is not dependably repeatable for the dealer to experience and fix. Frankly, this new JD4400HST has had too many problems and if it were not such a workhorse when it was correctly working, I would rather have my JD955 or Kubota 9200HST back since neither one of them required repairs. If it were a car, I would be looking into Missouri's automobile lemon laws. Does anyone have any possible solutions to my power loss problem?

Reply to | Quote Post Reply to PostQuote Reply | Add PhotoAdd Photo

JD4400 loses power--help

View my Photos
Michael Spurgeon

1999-07-25          6288

I tried to post this message on the John Deere board of this Web site, but in my two attempts, both of my messages ended up on the general board. ....

JD4400 loses power--help

View my Photos
Mike