Go Bottom Go Bottom

False fuel gauge reading on 4200

View my Photos
Gary in Indiana
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster

2002-01-12          34484

I bought a used 4200 MFWD and found the fuel gauge is always reading with the needle in the red zone (pretty embarrassing when I rushed to get fuel and couldn't squeeze even two gallons in). Even with the tank full the gauge didn't budge. Any ideas as to whether it's more likely the gauge or the sending unit? I'm new to all this (never even had a tractor before). How might I check to see which it might be? Is this too big a job for a newbie like me to try? Thanks for all your help.

Reply to | Quote Post Reply to PostQuote Reply | Add PhotoAdd Photo

View my Photos
TomG

2002-01-13          34496

Dang! There's a long discussion on the same subject in the archives, but I couldn't come up with a key word to find it with a search. Maybe somebody can find the old thread. I'm working through the test site, and like the new search page. It might be my imagination but the search, and maybe everything, seems faster.

A fuel gauge problem may be a good excuse to get a repair manual, which will provide wiring diagrams and procedures, for this and anything else that goes wrong. The general idea in testing fuel gauges is determining if the problem is wiring, the gauge or the sender. A constant voltage devise would be a less common problem.

Manual procedures should be followed. A manual may indicate that the gauge can be tested by disconnecting the wiring and putting a 9V battery across the gauge--it should read full. A VOM can be used to test the wiring for voltage, but you don't necessarily expect 12V battery voltage at all points. On some tractors, a sunken float can be detected by hooking it on a wire through the fill cap and pulling it up.

View my Photos
D.Hunt

2002-01-13          34504