Go Bottom Go Bottom

JD 790 Questions

View my Photos
Ben Sullivan
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster

2001-01-04          23074

I am looking into purchasing a John Deere 790 tractor. I have no experience with new tractors, only a 1973 135 Massey Ferguson, so I have a couple questions. What is a Dual Selective Control Valve? Is it only needed for a loader? I will never have need for a loader so I could save some money here if that is the DSCV's only application. Another question is a reasonable price. I have recieved prices from $10,500 to 11,500 without the DSCV. I have also had several dealers tell me that this is a Price Fighter model. What exactly does that mean? Is it another term for "on sale"? Another dealer mentioned that he didn't expect the price to return to $14,000 before the middle of spring. Is around $11,000 a abnormally low price for this tractor? Should I buy now or is the dealer lying to get a quick sale? Any information would be greatly appreciated! Ben

Reply to | Quote Post Reply to PostQuote Reply | Add PhotoAdd Photo

JD 790 Questions

View my Photos
Richard Mendel

2001-01-04          23075

John, Go t to the JD website and you will find that there is a promotional sale on the 790 until Jan. for $10,995.00. I am not that familiar with how good this model is so it may not be such a good deal. I'm looking also and am frankly confused. ....

JD 790 Questions

View my Photos
Rob Munach

2001-01-04          23076