Go Bottom Go Bottom

Y485 Fuel flooding my Fuel Injection Pump

View my Photos
stevek924
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster

2014-08-10          190884

I don’t have a Chinese tractor but I am in possession of a Yangdong Y485 engine (as best I can figure that is, the one & only data plate is in Chinese) and am in need of some troubleshooting assistance. I am a true novice concerning diesel engines in general and Chinese diesels in particular. There seems to be a lot of knowledge in this forum.
Long story short – bought a generator powered by the aforementioned Y485. The previous owner had a problem with the solenoid that holds the shutoff lever in the run position and somehow ended up pulling the rear cover off the fuel injection pump governor section (I’m sure there’s a long story in there also). That’s where his troubleshooting stopped.

I fixed the solenoid problem (bad wire), located and installed a new fuel pump since I had no idea what piece parts may have been lost from the one that was there, changed the oil and coolant, rebuilt the water pump, and today cranked it up for the first time.
This is where my problem starts; I used the priming pump and got fuel out of the forward bleed port just below the output line fittings. I gave it a few more pumps with the bleed port closed off and got fuel out of the banjo fitting that the injector return line attaches to on the aft side of the output manifold block. In hindsight this may not have been a good sign.
I cranked it over about three times, for about 10 to 15 seconds each time, it did not start. What it did do was start dripping (spewing is probably a better term) fuel out of the overflow tube for the lube oil in the pump. It was also dripping fuel from the bottom of the mating surface of the two halves of the governor housing.