GENERATOR/ELECTRICAL question: Tools - Generators  -- Tools Discussion Forum and Review GENERATOR/ELECTRICAL question: Tools - Generators -- Tools Discussion Forum

  parts   |   manuals   |   discussion   |   photos   |   podcast   |   reviews   |   specs   |   dealers   |   classifieds   |   contact   |   faq   |   myProfile   |   home          Login Now | Sign Up


FAQ:   What is a tractor?

Forum Index
New As Posted | Active Subjects



www.emerichsales.com - New & Used Equipment
          View Tractors For Sale!


www.partsbynet.com - Lawn and Garden Equipment Parts


Bernardsville Landscape Lighting
Click to Post a New Message!

Discussion Boards > Active Subjects > Messages as Posted > Tools - Generators Forum

Page [ 1 ] |
Reply | Pop Up Window Reply | Add PhotoAdd Photo
 09-29-2006, 08:05 Post: 135552
fcoccia



Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Penna.
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster
Posts: 8

2
Filter by User
 GENERATOR/ELECTRICAL question

The setting: Cabin 8 miles from any public power source. So, there is little chance in my life that public electric will ever be available. SO, when I wired the cabin, I set up the electric service box just as I would if it was being served from a power company, and bonded the Neutral and Ground bars together, then run to an external ground rod. I supply power to the box via a 240V 50Amp breaker wired from a 6-gauge 2wire plug. (2 hots, 1 ground std welders plug).
This has worked just fine no problems.

THE QUESTION: I just got a new generator that has a 4 wire plug on it, (2 hots, seperate neutral, ground). I know the right answer is to spend the money and change my setup from the current 2/1wire to a 3/1 wire setup, but given the expense of that heavy wire and that I need 25ft of it, I'm wondering since the neurtral and ground are bonded in the box(thus they both go to ground), why can't I just buy the appropriate 4-prong plug to plug into the generator but jump the nuetral to the ground in the plug there, thus I could still use my current wiring.

Basically I'm just wondering why I can't pass the neutral to the ground in the plug at the generator since that's whats basically happening in the main electric box????






Reply to PostReply | Quote Post Reply to PostQuote Reply | Add PhotoAdd Photo




Bookmarks: Digg It | Del.icio.us | Stumble This

 09-29-2006, 08:12 Post: 135553
Murf

TP Contributor

View my Photos

View my Photos  Pics
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Toronto Area, Ontario, Canada
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster
Posts: 7020
 GENERATOR/ELECTRICAL question

I suspect there is a small difference in the internal wiring of the generator, in your new generator the case/frame are not bonded to the ground wire, they are seperately wired through that 'extra' wire.

Since your genset and cabin's wiring are miles from the grid, I can't think of any reason why you can't merely put the new twist lock plug on the old wire and just use a small jumper cable to connect the 'extra' wire on the new plug to the neutral.

If you check the owner's manual it may even tell you to do this in a circumstance like yours. I seem to recall seeing something like that in mine, but it's 120 miles away so I can't look it up right now.

Best ofluck.






Reply to PostReply | Quote Post Reply to PostQuote Reply | Add PhotoAdd Photo




Bookmarks: Digg It | Del.icio.us | Stumble This

 09-29-2006, 09:03 Post: 135558
fcoccia



Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Penna.
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster
Posts: 8

2
Filter by User
 GENERATOR/ELECTRICAL question

Thanks for the reply Murf. I figured as long as I'm just feeding the main utility box with this it would be OK, you confirmed my thoughts. For added precaution, Since this is a PTO generator I will also have a seperate ground rod that attaches to the Generator frame outside next to the generator, so that any residual energy that would possiblly travel thru the neutral jumped to the ground would have a path directly to the Physical ground via the generator case being physically grounded. If I do that, I can't imagine why I should have any problems.






Reply to PostReply | Quote Post Reply to PostQuote Reply | Add PhotoAdd Photo




Bookmarks: Digg It | Del.icio.us | Stumble This

Reply | Pop Up Window Reply | Add PhotoAdd Photo


Page [ 1 ] |

Discussion Boards > Active Subjects > Messages as Posted > Tools - Generators Forum

Thread 135552 Filter by Poster:
fcoccia 2 | Murf 1 |




Most Viewed

+ Best Portable Generator 7500W Review
+ 3 Pt. PTO generators
+ PTO Generators Observations
+ coleman powermate 1600
+ Yamaha Generator problem
+ Generator set up ideas wanted
+ Titan Generators
+ Measuring Frequency in a generator
+ Pincor generator
+ How to increase Portable Generator Wattage output

Most Discussion

+ Generator set up ideas wanted
+ PTO Generators Observations
+ 3 Pt. PTO generators
+ PTO Horsepower and Generator Q
+ I love my Generator
+ Best Portable Generator 7500W
+ Yamaha Generator problem
+ Features to look for in stand
+ Power stability with PTO gener
+ Measuring Frequency in a gener

Newest Topics

+ no electric power
+ Premium Fuel for Generator Avoid Ethanol Myth
+ How to increase Portable Generator Wattage output
+ Gillette vs Winco Generator Review
+ Best Portable Generator Temporary Shelter
+ Portable Generator House Backup Grounding
+ Dielectric/antioxidant grease
+ Welder generator burning up tool switches
+ Welder generator burning up tool switches
+ Brush versus brushless Generators













Turbochargers for Tractors and Industrial Machines
Cab Glass for Tractors and Industrial Machines

Alternators for Tractors and Industrial Machines
Radiators for Tractors and Industrial Machines

Driveline Components for Tractors and Industrial Machines
Starter Motors for Tractors and Industrial Machines