Genset system Q s: Tools - Generators  -- Tools Discussion Forum and Review Genset system Q s: Tools - Generators -- Tools Discussion Forum

  parts   |   manuals   |   discussion   |   photos   |   podcast   |   reviews   |   specs   |   dealers   |   classifieds   |   contact   |   faq   |   myProfile   |   home          Login Now | Sign Up


FAQ:   What is a tractor?

Forum Index
New As Posted | Active Subjects



www.emerichsales.com - New & Used Equipment
          View Tractors For Sale!


www.partsbynet.com - Lawn and Garden Equipment Parts


Bernardsville Landscape Lighting
Click to Post a New Message!

Discussion Boards > Active Subjects > Messages as Posted > Tools - Generators Forum

Page [ 1 ] | 2 | | Next >>
Reply | Pop Up Window Reply | Add PhotoAdd Photo
 02-27-2006, 16:34 Post: 125262
RFB111



Join Date: Feb 2006
Location:
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster
Posts: 4

4
Filter by User
 Genset system Q's

Sirs,

I am planning to purchase and install a diesel genset for standby power somewhere in the neighborhood of 40 - 50 kw. I need some suggestions on how to plan the transfer switch(s) layout.

Here is the background information:

The house has a service (meter) and the garage and pumphouse are on another service separate from the house.(This meter is on a 6x6 post fairly close to the tformer, and power from this meter goes to the garage and pump-house) Both services come from a single surface mount (underground lines) transformer, with individual service going to each of the two meters.

The planned location for the genset is on a semi-enclosed pad next to a proposed new building (combination machine-shed/wood-shed/storage room). I will have to run (underground) lines from the genset to the house, as well as the aforementioned second service meter.

I have a drawing of the layout on pdf, but I do not know how to attach it here.

Question #1 (Once I answer this, there will likely be more)

Where is the best place/required place to place the ATS, and will I need two of them, or one?






Reply to PostReply | Quote Post Reply to PostQuote Reply | Add PhotoAdd Photo




Bookmarks: Digg It | Del.icio.us | Technorati | Furl | Stumble This

 02-27-2006, 17:29 Post: 125269
harvey



View my Photos

View my Photos  Pics
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Moravia, NY
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster
Posts: 1525
 Genset system Q's

If you have 2 seperate services you will have to have 2 seperate transfer switches.

Now would be a good time to reevaluate the need for 2 services and combine them and on pay for 1 service. Then you would only need 1 transfer switch.

If you have them seperate for taxes for a business talk to an accoutant how to wiggle the power into the business side. Our acc't has a formula and it seems very generous to me.






Reply to PostReply | Quote Post Reply to PostQuote Reply | Add PhotoAdd Photo




Bookmarks: Digg It | Del.icio.us | Technorati | Furl | Stumble This

 02-27-2006, 17:29 Post: 125270
Billy

TP Contributor

View my Photos

View my Photos  Pics
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Southeast Oklahoma
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster
Posts: 975

2
Filter by User
 Genset system Q's

Two electric meters equals two transfer switches. It might be cheaper to tie the garage and pumphouse into the house meter.






Reply to PostReply | Quote Post Reply to PostQuote Reply | Add PhotoAdd Photo




Bookmarks: Digg It | Del.icio.us | Technorati | Furl | Stumble This

 02-27-2006, 20:00 Post: 125273
RFB111



Join Date: Feb 2006
Location:
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster
Posts: 4

4
Filter by User
 Genset system Q's

Changing from two meters to one is not practical from either a money or a utilitarian sense. I would have to tear up concrete over in-ground lines to pull the garage/pump-house service back to the house, and the two separate services were designed that way for a reason. (We live VERY rural; no real fire protection except for self. With two meters, in the event of a house fire I can cut-off all residence power and still have water to fight the fire.)

Going back to the original Q, is it then as simple (yeah, right)
as installing two ATS's, one inside the residence, and one exterior rated on the 2nd service?






Reply to PostReply | Quote Post Reply to PostQuote Reply | Add PhotoAdd Photo




Bookmarks: Digg It | Del.icio.us | Technorati | Furl | Stumble This

 02-27-2006, 21:56 Post: 125275
Billy

TP Contributor

View my Photos

View my Photos  Pics
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Southeast Oklahoma
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster
Posts: 975

2
Filter by User
 Genset system Q's

Yes, it's that simple. Another thing you could do, if you want to save some bucks, is put the garage and pumphouse on a manual tranfer switch.






Reply to PostReply | Quote Post Reply to PostQuote Reply | Add PhotoAdd Photo




Bookmarks: Digg It | Del.icio.us | Technorati | Furl | Stumble This

 02-27-2006, 22:25 Post: 125278
RFB111



Join Date: Feb 2006
Location:
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster
Posts: 4

4
Filter by User
 Genset system Q's

Yes sir, I was thinking of that as a cost saving option.

With that question fairly resolved (Question "Is there anything you have not thought of?" Answer: "How would I know?"Wink yeah right

Q #2:

I am planning on trailer mounting this genset(and locating it on the pad) so that in the event of service needed beyond my ability, I can tow to a repair site. That saves big money when the closest is 260 miles round trip.

I want to run a (for the lack of the known term) "shore line" type plug into a weather-rated exterior box as the connection from the genset to the hard-lines. Is this a doable with this size of system (40 - 50kw)?

By the way, thanks for the replies.






Reply to PostReply | Quote Post Reply to PostQuote Reply | Add PhotoAdd Photo




Bookmarks: Digg It | Del.icio.us | Technorati | Furl | Stumble This

 02-28-2006, 07:57 Post: 125288
Murf

TP Contributor

View my Photos

View my Photos  Pics
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Toronto Area, Ontario, Canada
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster
Posts: 7004

2
Filter by User
 Genset system Q's

The absolute simplest, and very likely cheapest, way to do it would be to have a stub pole or 12" x 12" PT timber set in the ground next to the transformer. On it have a single meter mounted that in turn feeds both service panels, the garage / pumphouse and house itself.

You would then only need one transfer switch to run both buildings.

If you mounted the genset next to the garage you could then use the existing wire to carry the supply to the house. This would also allow you to remote mount the battery inside to keep it charged and ready.

As for trailer mounting, that makes it a little too mobile, especially if there is any amount of theft in your area, a genset is a popular item.

I would suggest having it skid-mounted, then have a trailer and a come-along or winch to pull it up onto the trailer in the unlikely event you ever need to take it away for service, or get a tilt & load tow truck to do the whole move. By skid I mean the steel drag frame used on construction equipment, not wood.

Best of luck.






Reply to PostReply | Quote Post Reply to PostQuote Reply | Add PhotoAdd Photo




Bookmarks: Digg It | Del.icio.us | Technorati | Furl | Stumble This

 02-28-2006, 11:09 Post: 125301
RFB111



Join Date: Feb 2006
Location:
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster
Posts: 4

4
Filter by User
 Genset system Q's

I like the idea of the single remote meter near the tformer...I had not thought of that, and it potentially reduces the cost of two ATS's. I will be hiring a licensed electrician and pulling a permit to do all of this, so it remains to be seen how much it would cost for that option as opposed to two ATS's.

I do not know if I can backfeed from the garage to the house, since I only had the garage setup for 100 amp service when I ran the power for it, and the house is a 200 amp service. (BTW, all services are underground.)

As far as theft; we are pretty rural. The county is 1400 square miles with only a pop of 3,000 and not one traffic light in the entire county. To get to the property, one has to drive a mile down a private road behind a locked gate. Then there are the five fur-covered guided heat-seekers. The genset will be located behind a locked rollup door in a semi-enclosed (ventilation provided) area.

Do you have any thoughts on the shore-line quick connect?






Reply to PostReply | Quote Post Reply to PostQuote Reply | Add PhotoAdd Photo




Bookmarks: Digg It | Del.icio.us | Technorati | Furl | Stumble This

 02-28-2006, 13:29 Post: 125306
Murf

TP Contributor

View my Photos

View my Photos  Pics
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Toronto Area, Ontario, Canada
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster
Posts: 7004

2
Filter by User
 Genset system Q's

I know the plugs you're talking about, they're called "twist lock" plugs.

The problem you will have though is capacity. You are talking about 40 or 50 Kw, even on strictly 220 volt that is ~180++ amps. The biggest you can get a twist lock plug, receptacle or the wire it takes is 50 amps.

Unless you have a way of spreading the load across 4 or 5 of them you're out of luck.

You may also have problems with putting the genset inside an enclosure, even if it is ventilated.

Best of luck.






Reply to PostReply | Quote Post Reply to PostQuote Reply | Add PhotoAdd Photo




Bookmarks: Digg It | Del.icio.us | Technorati | Furl | Stumble This

 02-28-2006, 14:30 Post: 125308
kthompson



View my Photos

View my Photos  Pics
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: South Carolina
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster
Posts: 5083

3
Filter by User
 Genset system Q's

Could you not run exhaust pipe from the unit through the wall to exhaust directly outside and if necessary do a fresh air intake the same?

kt






Reply to PostReply | Quote Post Reply to PostQuote Reply | Add PhotoAdd Photo




Bookmarks: Digg It | Del.icio.us | Technorati | Furl | Stumble This

Reply | Pop Up Window Reply | Add PhotoAdd Photo


Page [ 1 ] | 2 | | Next >>

Discussion Boards > Active Subjects > Messages as Posted > Tools - Generators Forum

Thread 125262 Filter by Poster:
AnnBrush 1 | Billy 2 | harvey 1 | kabeman2 1 | kthompson 3 | Murf 2 | RFB111 4 | steve4300 1 |




Most Viewed

+ Best Portable Generator 7500W Review
+ 3 Pt. PTO generators
+ PTO Generators Observations
+ coleman powermate 1600
+ Yamaha Generator problem
+ Generator set up ideas wanted
+ Titan Generators
+ Measuring Frequency in a generator
+ Pincor generator
+ How to increase Portable Generator Wattage output

Most Discussion

+ Generator set up ideas wanted
+ PTO Generators Observations
+ 3 Pt. PTO generators
+ PTO Horsepower and Generator Q
+ I love my Generator
+ Best Portable Generator 7500W
+ Yamaha Generator problem
+ Features to look for in stand
+ Power stability with PTO gener
+ Measuring Frequency in a gener

Newest Topics

+ no electric power
+ Premium Fuel for Generator Avoid Ethanol Myth
+ How to increase Portable Generator Wattage output
+ Gillette vs Winco Generator Review
+ Best Portable Generator Temporary Shelter
+ Portable Generator House Backup Grounding
+ Dielectric/antioxidant grease
+ Welder generator burning up tool switches
+ Welder generator burning up tool switches
+ Brush versus brushless Generators







Turbochargers for Tractors and Industrial Machines
Cab Glass for Tractors and Industrial Machines

Alternators for Tractors and Industrial Machines
Radiators for Tractors and Industrial Machines

Driveline Components for Tractors and Industrial Machines
Starter Motors for Tractors and Industrial Machines