Go Bottom Go Bottom

bush hog finish mower RDTH60 cutting problems

View my Photos
gendoc1
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster  View my Photos  Pics

2016-07-01          195426

I bought a used rdth60 in good shape to cut my 3 acre open field of centipede. i use it every other week and it cuts poorly....the grass gets about 10-12" high and i have to adjust the deck to max height. i have noticed the belt slipping so i have tighten it several times.
i cut the grass mostly when its early morning and its wet.

it leaves patches of torn grass so i looked at the blades and appear to be ok but could use to be sharpend.

i have ordered new belt, blades and idler pulley...
i will be installing them next weekend.
hopefully this will remedy the problems

does anyone think of another reason it is not cutting
right, other that the height i'm cutting at or wet grass ??

never had a problem with my BH rotary mower....
i'm just new to the finish style mower.

thanks, any info will be appreciated !!

Reply to | Quote Post Reply to PostQuote Reply | Add PhotoAdd Photo

View my Photos
Murf
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster  View my Photos  Pics

2016-07-05          195432

Quote:
Originally Posted by gendoc1 | view 195426
[QUOTE=gendoc1;195426]
I bought a used rdth60 in good shape to cut my 3 acre open field of centipede. i use it every other week and it cuts poorly....the grass gets about 10-12" high......

it leaves patches of torn grass so i looked at the blades and appear to be ok but could use to be sharpend.

[/QUOTE]

You answered your own question..

You're trying to cut a foot of heavy wet grass with a mower designed to cut no more than one half the length of the blade of grass. Add to that you have the mower raised up so the blades are unable to create the vacuum and airflow that normally fires the cuttings clear and you have exactly what you're seeing.