Go Bottom Go Bottom

Anyone have leaky dodge cummins

View my Photos
denwood
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster

2005-06-25          112768

I have been shopping for another dodge cummins for several months now. I have looked at all for sale in 50 mile radius with reasonable miles. So far, 16 trucks I have gone to see, all 2500 slt 4x4 long bed, loaded, 2000 to 2004 with 12000 to 84000 miles. Not one has been acceptable. These things are leaking junk. Friday I had a bank check in hand for $29000 to buy a 2004 quad slt 4x4 with 12000 miles. I realize it was under warranty but the undercarriage was so covered with oil, you could not touch anything without a thick coating even the exhaust. Dealer said it was power steering that had been fixed, just never cleaned. Other issues as well, so check went back to bank and he sent truck through Manheim auction and it only reached 28500 so he didn't sell it. Today 2 trucks, just hit the lots at dodge dealers. 2001 with everything and 55,000. Leaking transfer case, oil pan. 2002 with 30,000 miles, leaking transfer, oil pan, power steering pump. Manager said his shop was tough and didn't miss anything. He didn't have much to say when he looked under and saw all the leaks for himself. these trucks were cherry from head to toe until you went under. I have looked at Fords for a comparison and they all have had only a little oil moisture at the bell housing, nowhere else. One Dogde dealer had a 2000 with 55,000. I was ready to leave the house but when I called, he said don't bother coming it just came out of the shop and has so many leaks we cannot afford to fix it so it will go the auction. The dealers seem to have no interest in fixing the leaks under warranty if there is one just to set them on the lot. I was almost to the point of buying new till I saw the 2 2004s. the 1 with 40,000 miles was on its second tranny and was not quite right still. I know the warranty will cover it but I'd be there monthl