JD vs Craftsman: Garden Tractors -- Craftsman  -- Lawn and Garden Tractors Discussion Forum and Review JD vs Craftsman: Garden Tractors -- Craftsman -- Lawn and Garden Tractors Discussion Forum

parts   |   manuals   |   discussion   |   photos   |   podcast   |   reviews   |   specs   |   dealers   |   classifieds   |   contact   |   faq   |   myProfile   |   home          Login Now | Sign Up

FAQ:   What is a tractor?

Forum Index
New As Posted | Active Subjects

www.emerichsales.com - New & Used Equipment
          View Tractors For Sale!

www.partsbynet.com - Lawn and Garden Equipment Parts

Bernardsville Landscape Lighting
Click to Post a New Message!

Discussion Boards > Active Subjects > Messages as Posted > Garden Tractors -- Craftsman Forum

Page [ 1 ] | 2 | | Next >>
Reply | Pop Up Window Reply | Add PhotoAdd Photo
 05-20-2007, 00:55 Post: 142241
nisan17

TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster

Filter by User
 JD vs Craftsman

Hi,

I'm new to this group. Thanks for allowing me to be a part of this. I have a question regarding an upgrade. I have a rear engine 9hp 30" XL75? JD. We just moved onto a new property that has three acres to cut as opposed to our old 1/2 acre, so now I'm definately on the market to get a bigger mower. I really don't have the budget for a new/newer mower right now.

A friend who owns a thrift shop has a Craftsman 44" 18hp that's needs a little TLC that he will sell to me for $100. It needs a starter gear and some tire tubes and probably a tune up as well as sharpened blades.

I just recently observed a JD 116 for sale at a local pawn shop and I'm pretty sure I can get it for $300, asking price of $400. I know the JD has a 36" cut, and also needs a little tlc, like some minor adjustments.

I like the larger cut to make a quicker cut of the lawn. But I like JD because of the quality issue. I bought my current JD almost new 7 years ago, and it's lived up to it's reputation!