Go Bottom Go Bottom

Draft-Control-

View my Photos
KIRK
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster

2000-01-22          12166

I recently purchased a JD4600. I thought draft control was standard equipment but it is not. I've found that as an option the dealer will install it for me. I am not experienced with "Draft Control" and do not know how valuable it will be to my operation. I plan to plow several acres of stoney ground with a two bottom plow and I plan to use a new rototiller quite extensively. My question Is, Will it be worth my while to install Draft Control or can I get along quite well without it??? I know very little about this subject so any comments will be appreciated. KIRK

Reply to | Quote Post Reply to PostQuote Reply | Add PhotoAdd Photo

Draft-Control-

View my Photos
Bird Senter

2000-01-23          12169

Kirk, I don't know a lot about "draft control" and have no idea what it costs as a dealer installed option, so I can't say whether it's worth it, but I'm betting not. A neighbor has it on his big John Deere, but he's pulling 20' wide plows, too. The way he explained it to me is that he sets it for a certain depth, and if the tractor starts pulling too hard, it automatically raises the plows enough to prevent slowing or stalling, and when it's again pulling easily, it returns to the deeper depth. Is your two bottom plow going to pull the tractor down that much? And I use a rototiller a LOT and I can't see how draft control would be any benefit. The depth is adjusted with the skids and I just push the 3-pt lever all the way forward to allow the tiller to drop to its maximum depth. ....

Draft-Control-

View my Photos
Roger L.

2000-01-23          12170