Go Bottom Go Bottom

Box Scraper Landscaping Box

View my Photos
dmnsmith2
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster

2003-06-09          57229

I will be getting a new B7800 soon and would like a box to go with it. Since I am new to the tractor world, I am new to the implement world also, :)
Anyway, I need to do some leveling, rutt removing, filling in low spots, general landscaping. What type of box do I need to get, Fixed Bar Box Scraper, Rollover Box Scraper, or a Retractable Box Scraper? I am sure there are price differences and depends on how much I can spend. I'd just like an idea of what these can do and which one would be better for me. Thanks in advance!!

Reply to | Quote Post Reply to PostQuote Reply | Add PhotoAdd Photo

View my Photos
TomG

2003-06-10          57261

The most important box scraper feature in my experience is a hydraulic top-link. Without one you can end up hopping off the tractor every minute or so to adjust the top-link. A scraper with a hinged rear cutter may provide the ability to use a wider range of front cutter attack angles and may spread a bit better.

I use my fixed rear cutter for compacting and smoothing. Rolling the box down picks the front cutter off the ground so if doesn't pick up much loose material. I think some hinged rear cutters lock down so maybe they'd work as well as my fixed model plus provide better blade control.

Rollover boxes and retractable (scarifiers I guess) are handy but expensive. Mostly they save time for contractors who use their scrapers a lot.

Perhaps the most important feature is simply how much the box weighs. Heavy is good since a light one will bounce along hard ground without cutting it much and might not even sink the scarifiers much. You really don't want to have to use the scarifiers when the idea is to just touch up a drive.

View my Photos
marklugo
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster  View my Photos  Pics

2003-06-11          57338