Go Bottom Go Bottom

Removing sand from horse arena

View my Photos
Jim Edmonds
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster

2002-09-02          41929

At the risk of exposing myself as a novice, I was wondering if someone could help me decide the best way to do the following.

We have an outdoor horse arena about 80 x 160. Unfortunately, we got too much sand place on it and it is hindering the horses ability to perform properly.

I have a small John Deere 4300. I don't believe a scraper will do the job since it will overflow with sand before I reach an end point. I've seen a box scraper but not quite sure how that would work. I think I want to collect a layer of sand and deposit it at another point in the arena. Does a box scraper permit this action? Of course a front end loader would probably do the job, but cost just out of line for my usage overall.

Any 2 cent opinions gladly welcome.

Thank you.

Reply to | Quote Post Reply to PostQuote Reply | Add PhotoAdd Photo

View my Photos
Peters
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster  View my Photos  Pics

2002-09-02          41931

A scraper blade will remove the sand but it will be difficult to have it completely even. You can always angle the blade and keep drawing the sand to one side.
A box blade is essentially a blade with ends on it to keep the material from flowing of the end. Like a commercial scraper you can draw material with you in the box and then release it by raising the allowing the material to flow out. I this manner you can place a relatively even amount of material over an area. ....

View my Photos
DRankin
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster  View my Photos  Pics

2002-09-02          41937