Go Bottom Go Bottom

Disc Harrow use with Compact tractor

View my Photos
Nellie
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster

2002-05-02          38087

I am going to plant a pasture of about 1.5 acres. I have been told the best way is to disc the areas, broadcast the seed and disc again. I have a Kubota B-2910 and want to know how well a 5.5 foot disc will work with my tractor.

Reply to | Quote Post Reply to PostQuote Reply | Add PhotoAdd Photo

View my Photos
Stan

2002-05-03          38098

Nellie -

I'm no expert, but the "discs" I'm familiar with will turn up the soil too much after you spread the seed - and would probably leave the field too rough to plant on too.

My suggestion - disc first is OK, the level/smooth - a flexible tine harrow or piece of chain link fence with a piece of channel iron both work.

Then spread the seed, and go over it again lightly with the flex tine or the fence.

I'd suggest getting a good flexible tine harrow - good for dragging areans, aerating pastures, working up the pasture droppings, smoothing gravel paths, etc.

Good Luck,

Stan ....

View my Photos
TomG

2002-05-03          38102

Like Stan, I don't have a disc harrow, but my impression is that using one may not result in the best planting depth.

From a quick scan, I gathered that working depths of disc harrows are controllable by adjusting the angle of the discs. Still, I don't know if 'controllable' means that a disc harrow can produce a thin covering of soil on top of broadcast seeds. I noticed that operators manuals are available on the Landpride site but a free Acrobat reader much be downloaded to read the manual. Maybe an operator’s manual would shed some light on the question.

View my Photos
Peters
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster  View my Photos  Pics

2002-05-04          38140

Stan is correct I would recommend disking, leveling and then broad casting with the flex harrow behind.