Go Bottom Go Bottom

Power for my backhoe

View my Photos
Rick
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster

2004-08-31          95064

I recently purchased a grey market Shibaura SD1840 tractor with front loader. I found a backhoe attachment brand new and all it needs is the hydraulics to power the unit. I'm inclined to find a pto pump and a reservoir for the power versus adding to the tractor's existing hydraulic pump. Anyone have or know where I can get a cheap PTO pump and reservoir? I'm a newbie with tractors so any advice concerning the hydraulics, 3PT hitch, or PTO operation would help me as well. I didn't get any manuals with the tractor or the backhoe attachment.

Reply to | Quote Post Reply to PostQuote Reply | Add PhotoAdd Photo

Power for my backhoe

View my Photos
shortmagnum
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster  View my Photos  Pics

2004-08-31          95070

Rick, I just did the same thing. Northern tool (formerly Northern hydraulics) sells the Prince PTO pump for $350. I also ended up getting a 10 gal tank and inline filter and suction strainer there for another $110. They are not the cheapest place but they have a store right in town and the difference was not that much. I still need about 6' of pressure line and about the same return line distance.

Some of the grey market tractors run their PTOs at 1000 rpm. They make one for that speed also.
David ....

Power for my backhoe

View my Photos
oneace
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster  View my Photos  Pics

2004-08-31          95135

WARNING: Any 3pt back hoe should be used with extreme caution. You may end up turning your one tractor in to two. ....

Power for my backhoe

View my Photos
dfkrug

2004-09-01          95281