Go Bottom Go Bottom

HST vs Manual and size of tractor

View my Photos
raynman
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster  View my Photos  Pics

2003-12-29          72548

Hi all, I'm new to this stuff and looking for some help with a few questions regarding tractors.

HST vs Manual, which is best for plowing fields, FEL work, I have 15 acres and will be planting around 3-4 acres, very sandy soil in mid Michigan.

Next question, size of tractor, I like the NH TC33D and the JD 4410, I haven't looked at orange yet but will soon. I have a friend that keeps telling me that I need at least the JD4510, he is partial to green paint. I like the NH the best but still have some investigating.

Any opinions?

Reply to | Quote Post Reply to PostQuote Reply | Add PhotoAdd Photo

View my Photos
shortmagnum
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster  View my Photos  Pics

2003-12-29          72550

Raynman,
Most everyone here seems partial to the hydro transmission. I still like my shuttle shift. Our soil in northern Wisconsin is also very sandy and easy to plow. My old Ford 9N has no problem pulling a two bottom plow so I would doubt that you would NEED the horsepower of even the 4410. However, depending on the type and amount of work you have for the FEL, you might like the higher horsepower of the two you're interested in. Don't forget to look at orange. :-) ....

View my Photos
wallac
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster

2003-12-29          72552

Manual is direct drive- more hp. to the ground. Hst. is ran thru the pumps less hp. to the ground with the equal hp. rating of the same tractor ....

View my Photos
wallac

2003-12-29          72554

Don't just set you eyes on the big guy colors. Venture out into the other tractor markets as well. If nothing for nothing at least you gained some more info on whats out there. Check out the MAHINDRA and KIOTI lines. ....

View my Photos
plots1