Go Bottom Go Bottom

Hydro vs Gear

View my Photos
wildbill
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster

2003-12-11          70880

I need some advice. I am looking at purchasing a compact tractor like a Kubota 3430 4WD. I am trying to decide between the GST or Hydro transmission. I have no experience with the Hydro but I do like the experience I had in a test drive at the dealer. My concern is with the relative capability of each and which one will best fit my application. Money is not the object here. My uses will be varied; loader work; gardening/ground work; mowing; all about equal time use. What is the optimum choice for me.

Reply to | Quote Post Reply to PostQuote Reply | Add PhotoAdd Photo

Hydro vs Gear

View my Photos
Chief
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster  View my Photos  Pics

2003-12-11          70886

Get the hydro. It is best suited to a wide variety of applications especially grass mowing. MUCH less time used do to no stopping to shift gears backing up, changing speeds, etc. With the hydro you just push down more on the go pedal. Hydro is great in the garden as you can creep at a snail's pace with a tiller. Moving items like trailers are very easy with hydro as no clutching is done and very fine movements are easy. You can get most jobs done without a hydro but it sure makes life a LOT easier. I had gearshift tractors for about 12 years until my buddy made me try an ehydro at his John Deere deal. I have NOT regretted the choice I made. ....

Hydro vs Gear

View my Photos
wildbill
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster

2003-12-11          70889

Thanks Chief. What about comparison bewteem the JD eHydro and the Kubota Hydro? Is pulling power equivalent given the same PTO HP? ....

Hydro vs Gear

View my Photos
Art White
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster  View my Photos  Pics

2003-12-11          70890