Go Bottom Go Bottom

H P verus RPM

View my Photos
perplexed
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster

2003-01-13          47464

I've read that bigger is better when it comes to tractors. But when I talked to my Kubota dealer he stated that in order for the tractor to run at peak efficiency and for it to last longer It should be worked at around 2600 rpm. If this is the case would to much hp cause a reduction in the r's? As you can see, I'm a novice trying to learn.
thanks again, Rude
Whoops, should be versus.

Reply to | Quote Post Reply to PostQuote Reply | Add PhotoAdd Photo

H P verus RPM

View my Photos
Billy
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster  View my Photos  Pics

2003-01-13          47465

perplexed,

Most implements need to be run at PTO speed. Since PTO speed is predetermined, The only thing about HP is if you have enough to keep the RPMs where they should be.

For example a brush cutter, 4ft on a 16hp tractor. You set the RPMs so the PTO runs at 540. You go through some TALL grass or heavy brush. The motor pulls down so you have to go slower so the RPMs stay up.

Same cutter on a 20hp tractor. The RPMs is set the same, to keep the PTO at 540. You go through some TALL grass or heavy brush but the tractor just chugs right along. This is where the extra HP comes in.

Billy

H P verus RPM

View my Photos
slowrev

2003-01-13          47467

Unlike automotive and small gas engines Tractor engines are designed for more torque at lower RPM's. This also translates to longer life for the engines. Check out the HP specs for your car engine vs a tractor engine.

H P verus RPM

View my Photos
TomG

2003-01-14          47485