Go Bottom Go Bottom

Diesel Conditioner Required

View my Photos
kadorken
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster

2004-01-15          74104

As I glance at our weather station indicating -24 C, I am wondering about the need for diesel conditioner in the fuel to prevent icing, etc. I have never used it before, but have hear in the last week of 2 instances of diesel fuel gelling up.

Anyone have any experiences as to when one should actually use conditioner or not? What about 'winter' diesel versus 'summer' diesel fuel?

Reply to | Quote Post Reply to PostQuote Reply | Add PhotoAdd Photo

View my Photos
Chief
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster  View my Photos  Pics

2004-01-15          74107

For a few cents per gallon you can pretty much guarantee yourself no gelling of your fuel while at the same time raising the cetane number of the fuel as well as increased lubricity. Why would you not use it under such cold circumstances? ....

View my Photos
kwschumm
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster  View my Photos  Pics

2004-01-15          74114

In -24 degree C weather I for sure would use the diesel additive. It is dirt CHEAP insurance. Heck, I use it in my 4310 and we rarely see temperature in the teens. ....

View my Photos
wbowhunt

2004-01-16          74132

What additive have your tried and which are you using? Brands? Any real difference ( Excluding the low end cheap stuff ) ....

View my Photos
Murf

2004-01-16          74138

As (relatively speaking) your neighbour I can tell you definitevely, the conditioner will make a BIG difference.

Even if you don't have a gelling problem it will do many good things for you, it will make starting faster & easier, it will disperse any water in the system and most imortantly stop it from forming ice. It will also help prevent the growth of algae and lubricate the pump & injectors.