Go Bottom Go Bottom

755 Fuel problem

View my Photos
Mike Flitcraft
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster

2001-05-14          28147

I'm having a problem with my 755 and was hoping someone on here can be of help. The problem has to do with fuel delivery. When under load (mowing, snow removal, etc), the tractor will suddenly lose all power and barely run. After shutting it down, bleeding it per the shop manual, it works fine for a few hours, then the same thing happens. I've checked the fuel pump delivery volume, and it's per specs. I should add that when this happens, the fuel filter bowl is almost empty. I'm thinking it's an air leak, but the way it acts, I don't know where to look or what to suspect. If anyone has any ideas, I'd be more than willing to listen. Thanks in advance for any help!

Reply to | Quote Post Reply to PostQuote Reply | Add PhotoAdd Photo

755 Fuel problem

View my Photos
Norm

2001-05-14          28148

I'm no expert, but the fact that the fuel bowl is empty suggests to me that the fuel pump may be the culprit. You say you've checked the delivery capacity, but the problem is obviously intermittent. If not the pump itself, perhaps wiring to it. Could an air leak on the suction side of the pump be a possible cause? I'll raise that to the board for someone else to comment. ....

755 Fuel problem

View my Photos
Mike Flitcraft

2001-05-14          28154

Thanks for the response. I suspected the solenoid for the fuel cut-off as it's impossible to know when it's going to happen and I can't 'watch' it the whole time I'm using the tractor. I did check the connector to the solenoid and it was corroded. After cleaning it, the problem continues.