Go Bottom Go Bottom

SyncShift Tranny Problems

View my Photos
Matt
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster

2001-03-28          26032

I'm having problems getting my 4200 4X4 into gear sometimes. It has the SyncShift tranny. I have a hill of about 20 degrees and when I stop on it while going down I almost can't get it into reverse. I think I may have bent the lever and have broken the plastic around it trying to get it into reverse on the hill. It seems to have a problem on the hill when I stop and try to go into 1st also, but if I roll a little it will go in easier. When on flat ground it is sometime hard to get into any gear. I'm not sure if it's a clutch problem or tranny problem. Has anyone else had this problem??? My dealer says he's contacted JD and they tell him it is oil loggin around the clutch because of all the oil being at the front of the gearcase while on the hill. It seems to me that the clutch may not be disengaging fully?? Any advice would be appreciated.

Reply to | Quote Post Reply to PostQuote Reply | Add PhotoAdd Photo

View my Photos
Jim

2001-03-29          26039

Trade it in on a Kubota. ....

View my Photos
Jim Reichard

2001-03-29          26045

Hi Matt, To the best of my memory that system is only has syncro rings in foward gears not reverse. which means you should shift easy up shift or down shift but you may have to fiddle with it to get it in reverse. It does sound like you have a problem posibly with your clutch not releasing. I'm not buying what your dealer is saying ,I think you might want to call John Deere direct and tell them whats happening.
GOOD LUCK!
JIM ....

View my Photos
Art White
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster  View my Photos  Pics

2001-03-29          26068

Matt the 4100 Deere uses a dry clutch, It sounds like your trans might be winding up. Does it do it in two or four wheel or both? How does it shift on the level? ....

View my Photos
Matt