Go Bottom Go Bottom

Q for Shortmagnum

View my Photos
Iowafun
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster  View my Photos  Pics

2006-02-13          124445

Shortmagnum - how does Knowlton compare to Shullsburg down in the SW part of the state? I struggle to find great string cheese and the curds you get in Iowa just don't stand up to the fresh stuff.

Reply to | Quote Post Reply to PostQuote Reply | Add PhotoAdd Photo

Q for Shortmagnum

View my Photos
AV8R
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster  View my Photos  Pics

2006-02-13          124451

Being a life-long resident, I can attest to the fact that Mullen's Cheese (Knowlton) doesn't hold a candle to Wisconsin Dairy State Cheese (Rudolph).

Sorry, Shortmagnum. ....

Q for Shortmagnum

View my Photos
shortmagnum

2006-02-14          124470

I didn't know about the one in Rudolph. It has to be pretty good to beat Mullins in Knowlton. :) I'll have to take a motorcycle ride this spring to check it out. It's about 3 hours from me right now.

Some other good cheese places are in Spring Valley, Reedsburg, and Fennimore WI. There are probably others closer to Iowa but I don't know far SW Wisconsin that well. You're right about fresh curd though. If it don't squeek, it aint worth eatin.
Dave ....

Q for Shortmagnum

View my Photos
AV8R

2006-02-14          124477

When they're still warm from the vatt, squeaky and salty, mmmmm. ....

Q for Shortmagnum

View my Photos
Iowafun

2006-02-14          124489

any websites for these factories? I'm a born cheesehead and I'm in withdrawl. The wife wanted chocolate today so I took care of that. But I owuld love fresh cheese curds or some good cheese. Maybe on a cracker, but good cheese by itself is hmmm hmmm.

I wish I could remember the brand my mom had over the Christmas holiday. I couldn't stop eating it. Dang it was good. ....

Q for Shortmagnum

View my Photos
Murf

2006-02-14          124490