Go Bottom Go Bottom

Hooking up an electric fence

View my Photos
SOB
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster

2001-09-13          31790

HELP!!!! Here's what I have. I ran an electric fence, started 2 wires at the power supply, ran 1 low the other high, I tried 2 things. First, I terminated each run seperate from the other, ending at an insulator. have a ground wire from the ground terminal into a grounding rod. Result..nothing. Then I connected the wires together to make one continous loop, result..only the top wire is hot. My question is.. how do I set it up so both the top wire and the bottom wire are hot? I also have 2 strands of barbed wire between the electric. Thanks!

Reply to | Quote Post Reply to PostQuote Reply | Add PhotoAdd Photo

View my Photos
BillBass

2001-09-13          31791

I have never hooked up an electric fence, but, as an electrical engineer, I can tell you that it is impossible to have 2 wires physically connected and have one hot and not the other.

You say you started 2 wires at the power supply. I assume you mean that you connected both wires to the same hot terminal on the power supply. If you have good connections on both wires, then both will be hot. If not, then there is a bad connection somewhere.

How are you determining if the wire is hot? Are you checking between the wire and the ground rod, or between the wire and the earth? Check between each wire and the ground rod first to make sure you have good connections on all wire connections. If both are hot there, then check between each wire and earth. That will check the ground rod to earth continuity. ....

View my Photos
Randy

2001-09-13          31792

Having a good gound connection is important. I used a 5' lenght of copper pipe driven 3' into the ground. If the soil is dry where your ground rod is that may be a problem, not a good connection.