Go Bottom Go Bottom

What Tractor do I need

View my Photos
Ken Tajchman
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster

2001-08-21          31152

I will be purchasing 10-15 acres of land in East central Kansas. It will be put into alternate crop production (8-13 acres). I will be purchasing a tractor soon after the purchase of this land. Does anyone have any general recomendations for the brand/size/attachments that would be best? I have extensive experience with heavy industry equipment, but none with AG equipment. I would like to one as cheaply as possible without sacrificing features or relibility, and comfort. I have no brand loyalties, but I like U.S. made. I will be using the tractor for preparing seed beds, harvesting, pulling carts/wagons/logs, occasional snow clearing and road grading, mowing grass, occasional filed and pasture mowing. It needs to be able to stand up to many years of heavy use under heavy loads.

Reply to | Quote Post Reply to PostQuote Reply | Add PhotoAdd Photo

What Tractor do I need

View my Photos
Rob Munach

2001-08-21          31153

If you want a tractor to last a long time and withstand abuse, you should look for tractor models that have been in production for a long time. Also find a tractor that doesn't have a bunch of electronic gimmicks. I would probably be leaning towards Kubota. ....

What Tractor do I need

View my Photos
Ken Tajchman

2001-08-22          31174

We live in NE Johnson county (oooh, suburnaites, yuck)Douglas and Northern Miami counties. Someone suggested I get a cheap riding mower to handle the mowing chores, and look around for a utility tractor.

That is a good idea, I will probably pursue that avenue. However, I am still a little (read a lot)unclear on tractor sizing and HP requiremments. Also, is it easier to blade or is the snowblower worth the cost and hassle for our location?

What attachments are best?