Go Bottom Go Bottom

Diesel fuel pipe joints

View my Photos
Mark L
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster

2002-10-01          43151

Can anyone help me with this one...

I have installed a small bulk storage tank and assembled all the bits including sight guage and delivery hose. All seemed well. After a week or two a couple of the joints between the fittings started to seep. It's very slow but annoying (like less than a drop a day). I've tried tightening the joints but it doesn't work. It'll be a month or 2 before I will emnpy the tank enough to dismantle it. Can anyone suggest how to prevent the problem with or without emptying the tank. I'm an accomplished plumber but this one is really puzzling me.

Reply to | Quote Post Reply to PostQuote Reply | Add PhotoAdd Photo

Diesel fuel pipe joints

View my Photos
TomG

2002-10-01          43153

My furnace oil tank has a shut off valve first thing out of the tank. Fuel tanks may be required to have a shut off. I had a fitting that seeped a bit after a new furnace was installed. It stopped when I tightened it a bit. If it hadn't stopped, I would have turned off the shut off and replaced the fitting. I don't think Teflon tape and similar things work for either compression or flanged fittings. At least with compression fittings, the threads just supply pressure to seat the flares and don't provide seals like on plumbing and hydraulic fittings. I imagine that there are a standard for what type fittings can be used in fuel lines, and I’d check codes.