Go Bottom Go Bottom

Cement Board Siding

View my Photos
Peters
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster  View my Photos  Pics

2002-07-13          40320

I am putting the Hardy cement board siding on my house (finishing stages). We choose the cement board over the cedar as the bumble bee make short lunch out of the cedar here.
My question is I am using a 10" slide saw to cut the cement board. The blade is fine for cutting the board but now will not cut the normal lumber. There is some coating of the blade but it as if it has taken the set out of the blades teeth. The Skill saw is the same. I have not checked the table saw yet.
Does anyone know of a better blade to use than a regular carbide tip?

Reply to | Quote Post Reply to PostQuote Reply | Add PhotoAdd Photo

Cement Board Siding

View my Photos
DRankin
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster  View my Photos  Pics

2002-07-13          40325

I have no direct experience cutting this material, but I have sawn tile. When you use a circular type saw on ceramics, steel or cement it seems to me that rather than 'cutting' the saw blade and the material just grind each other down. I would check out the labels on other types of saw blades such as one coated with industrial diamonds used for ceramic or the black composite blades used to cut steel. ....

Cement Board Siding

View my Photos
DRankin

2002-07-13          40326

Eric, I checked my saw drawer and found and old Vermont American “abrasive blade” still in the package. It is black and made from some sort of resin and grit. Its listed uses include: masonry, concrete, concrete block, brick, limestone, sandstone, slate and soft non-ferrous metals. Hope this helps. ....

Cement Board Siding

View my Photos
DavidJ
TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster

2002-07-13          40328